top of page

Fireplace Facelift

The fireplace update made for a fun, straight-forward weekend project. I tackled the fireplace during the same season as the first stage of the kitchen renovation (April 2017). When we moved into the home the fireplace was in its original condition from 1960. I decided to give it some fresh paint, rustic mantle, and meaningful decor.


Step One: Scrub the entire fireplace with warm soapy water

This process took a little longer than anticipated. I would suggest using a 5 gallon bucked of warm soapy water. I had to dump my bowl and get fresh water at least 10 times. Turns out that fireplace was DIRTY!


Step Two: Use a roller to apply an even coat of primer

I used Sherwin Williams Extreme Bond Primer with a 3/4" nap roller brush.


Step Three: Apply paint with paint sprayer

I made sure to tape off the surrounding areas with plastic drop cloths. I used a Wagner Paint Sprayer to expedite the painting process and help get the paint into the grout lines. The paint color is Sherwin Williams "Extra White". We made sure to come back in with a cut-in brush and add paint in the grout lines where the sprayer did not reach.


Step Four: Transform an old piece of wood into a rustic mantle

Our friend Chris found us this piece of old cedar wood that he thought we could use for a mantle. Mike used a Dewalt Angle Grinder with a wire cup brush to smooth the surface of the wood. We then brushed on several coats of WATCO Danish Oil in Medium Walnut. Our friend Sammi helped is out with this step.


Step Five: Attach mantle to fireplace

Mike used a 3/4" bit in a hammer drill to create four holes in the brick. We then tapped in lag shield anchors into each hole. Mike then installed lag screws into each hole. We then drilled corresponding 3/4" holes into the back of the mantle. Lastly we slid the mantle onto the lag screws and tapped it in with a rubber mallet.


Step Six: Decorate the Mantle

I like to decorate with items that bring me joy and have person history. Mike gave me the Middle Earth map for our first Christmas and made the frame himself, my dad has helped me grow a collection of antique cameras including the two on the mantle, the antique metal fan belonged to Mike's late grandfather, and the jug on the hearth was my parents and I remember it from my childhood home.





Comments


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page